Student Achievement Center groundbreaking held

GroundbreakingWestmoreland County Community College held a groundbreaking ceremony June 7 to mark the beginning of construction on a new Student Achievement Center at the Youngwood campus. The center will be a renovation of Founders Hall, which is located at the college’s Youngwood campus.

The renovation and creation of the Student Achievement Center will foster individual and collaborative learning resources. It will also be home to a comprehensive support services environment for the college community. The center will focus on helping students, faculty and staff achieve the greatest level of success in all of their endeavors.

“Students are our focus. With the new center, we have aligned the design with our mission to provide student support programs that allow them to achieve their goals,” said Dr. Tuesday Stanley, president, Westmoreland County Community College. “Their success will always be our greatest achievement.”

“The Student Achievement Center is an example of innovation in education,” said Chad Amond, Board of Trustees chair. “Students are working in group settings more and more. This mirrors what businesses are looking for in students they want to hire. The college needed space that was more conducive to this workforce expectation.”

Westmoreland President Tuesday Stanley presided over the ceremony attended by business and community leaders and elected officials. Faculty and staff from the college also attended the groundbreaking.

Speakers at the event included Westmoreland County Community College President Dr. Tuesday Stanley, Westmoreland County Commissioner Charles W. Anderson, Westmoreland County Commissioner Ted Kopas, Westmoreland County Community College Board of Trustees Chair Chad Amond, Westmoreland County Community College Educational Foundation Chair Phil McCalister, and Westmoreland County Community College Board Trustee Bridget Johnston.

Special guests in attendance included Tim Gribbin representing State Representative Eric Nelson (57th District); Indiana County Commissioner Rodney H. Ruddock; Westmoreland County Community College Board Trustees Larry Larese, Ron H. Ott, Jess Stairs, R. Douglas Weimer and John D. Wright; Westmoreland County Community College Educational Foundation Board members Mark Cain, L. Christian DeDiana, Michael Hricik, Bonnie Lewis, William Scalise, Judith Scheeren and Joseph Trimarchi; Westmoreland – Fayette Workforce Investment Board Executive Director Bill Thompson; Kelly Folts, CannonDesign; and community members James Cherubini, Dr. Rob DePasquale and Louisea Vrable.

The renovation team consists of CannonDesign, architect; Turner Construction, construction manager; and Hudson, general contractor.

The center is expected to be open in time for fall 2020 classes.